Help Stop the Connecticut Collector Car Tax Increase



April 26, 2011

The Connecticut State Legislature is actively considering a bill targeted at collector car owners that would result in a 400% tax increase on the personal property taxes paid for antique vehicles.  This move would raise the personal property tax cap from $500 to $2500 for each registered antique car.  The Historic Vehicle Association, an organization dedicated to protecting the rights of collector car owners and an affiliate of Hagerty, has been working to kill this bill but we need your help. 

The proposed tax increase would apply to registered antique vehicles that are 30 years or older.  If a vehicle is registered as a regular driver and not registered as an antique then no property tax cap would apply and the increase could be even more.

The negative impacts of this proposed tax in HB 5580 are as follows:

  • This 400% tax increase focuses on one percent of the population potentially causing an antique vehicle owner to pay more vehicle tax than property tax for their home.
  • This attempt to raise $2 million for local municipalities could potentially cost the state money through deferred registration of antique vehicles where people are tempted to register their cars in other states or sell their antique vehicles outright.
  • Nationally, antique car owners spend $35 billion each year and donate more than $59 million to charitable organizations.  Connecticut car clubs host hundreds of events each year and support for these events, charities and local business revenue could suffer or completely disappear.  Less antique cars would have a negative overall economic impact in the State of Connecticut.

The Historic Vehicle Association urges everyone to contact Connecticut State Legislators to encourage them to oppose House Bill 5580.  Contact information for each Connecticut Legislator can be found below. Please call to tell them what you think about this anti-hobby money grab:

Representative Catherine Abercrombie
Phone: 860/240-8500
Email: Catherine.Abercrombie@cga.ct.gov

Representative James Albis 
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: James.Albis@cga.ct.gov

Representative David Aldarondo       
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: David.Aldarondo@cga.ct.gov

Representative Emil Altobello            
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Emil.Altobello@cga.ct.gov

Representative Joe Aresimowicz 
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Joe.Aresimowicz@cga.ct.gov

Representative Andres Ayala 
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Andres.Ayala@cga.ct.gov

Representative Terry Backer   
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Terry.Backer@cga.ct.gov

Representative David A. Baram         
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: David.Baram@cga.ct.gov

Representative Brian Becker  
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Brian.Becker@cga.ct.gov

Representative Jeffrey J. Berger         
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Jeffrey.Berger@cga.ct.gov

Representative Elizabeth A. Boukus
Phone: 860/240-8585 
Email: Betty.Boukus@cga.ct.gov

Representative Larry B. Butler           
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Larry.Butler@cga.ct.gov

Representative Juan R. Candelaria     
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Juan.Candelaria@cga.ct.gov

Representative Charles Clemons        
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Charles.Clemons@cga.ct.gov

Representative Michelle L. Cook       
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Michelle.Cook@cga.ct.gov

Representative James M. Crawford    
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: James.Crawford@cga.ct.gov

Representative Stephen D. Dargan     
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Stephen.Dargan@cga.ct.gov

Representative Paul Davis      
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Paul.Davis@cga.ct.gov

Representative Patricia A. Dillon       
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Patricia.Dillon@cga.ct.gov

Representative Christopher G. Donovan        
Phone: 860/240-8500
Email: Christopher.Donovan@cga.ct.gov

Representative Louis Esposito
Phone: 860/240-8500
Email: Lou.Esposito@cga.ct.gov

Representative Kim Fawcett  
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Kim.Fawcett@cga.ct.gov

Representative Andrew M. Fleischmann        
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Andrew.Fleischmann@cga.ct.gov

Representative Mae Flexer     
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Mae.Flexer@cga.ct.gov

Representative Gerald Fox     
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Gerald.Fox@cga.ct.gov

Representative Mary G. Fritz 
Phone: 860/240-8500
Email: Mary.Fritz@cga.ct.gov

Representative Henry Genga  
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Henry.Genga@cga.ct.gov

Representative Linda M. Gentile 
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email:  Linda.Gentile@cga.ct.gov

Representative Bob Godfrey  
Phone: 860/240-8500
Email: Bob.Godfrey@cga.ct.gov

Representative Minnie Gonzalez        
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Minnie.Gonzalez@cga.ct.gov

Representative Auden Grogins           
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Auden.Grogins@cga.ct.gov

Representative Antonio Guerrera
Phone: 860/240-8585 
Email: Tony.Guerrera@cga.ct.gov

Representative Gregory Haddad        
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Gregory.Haddad@cga.ct.gov

Representative Gail K. Hamm            
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Gail.Hamm@cga.ct.gov

Representative John Hennessy
Phone: 860/240-8585 
Email: Jack.Hennessy@cga.ct.gov

Representative Ernest Hewett            
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Ernest.Hewett@cga.ct.gov

Representative Gary Holder-Winfield            
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Gary.Holder-Winfield@cga.ct.gov

Representative Bryan Hurlburt
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Bryan.Hurlburt@cga.ct.gov

Representative Claire Janowski          
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Claire.Janowski@cga.ct.gov

Representative Susan Johnson            
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Susan.Johnson@cga.ct.gov

Representative Ed Jutila 
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email:  Ed.Jutila@cga.ct.gov

Representative David W. Kiner          
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: David.Kiner@cga.ct.gov

Representative Marie Lopez Kirkley-Bey      
Phone: 860/240-8500
Email: Marie.Lopez.Kirkley-Bey@cga.ct.gov

Representative Timothy D. Larson     
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Timothy.Larson@cga.ct.gov

Representative Roland J. Lemar         
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Roland.Lemar@cga.ct.gov

Representative Matthew Lesser 
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email:  Matthew.Lesser@cga.ct.gov

Representative Geoff Luxenberg       
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Geoff.Luxenberg@cga.ct.gov

Representative Christopher Lyddy     
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Christopher.Lyddy@cga.ct.gov

Representative Douglas McCrory       
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Douglas.McCrory@cga.ct.gov

Representative Robert W. Megna       
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Robert.Megna@cga.ct.gov

Representative Steven Mikutel
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Steve.Mikutel@cga.ct.gov

Representative Patricia B. Miller        
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Patricia.Miller@cga.ct.gov

Representative Philip Miller
Phone: 860/240-8585 
Email: Philip.Miller@cga.ct.gov

Representative Russell A. Morin        
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Russell.Morin@cga.ct.gov

Representative Bruce V. Morris         
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Bruce.Morris@cga.ct.gov

Representative Edward Moukawsher 
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Edward.Moukawsher@cga.ct.gov

Representative Mary M. Mushinsky   
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Mary.Mushinsky@cga.ct.gov

Representative Sandy Nafis   
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Sandy.Nafis@cga.ct.gov

Representative Vickie O. Nardello     
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Vickie.Nardello@cga.ct.gov

Representative Frank N. Nicastro       
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Frank.Nicastro@cga.ct.gov

Representative Elaine O'Brien            
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Elaine.OBrien@cga.ct.gov

Representative Tim O'Brien    
Phone: 860/240-8855
Email: tim@timobrien.org

Representative Melissa Olson 
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Melissa.Olson@cga.ct.gov

Representative Linda A. Orange        
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Linda.Orange@cga.ct.gov

Representative Chris Perone   
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Chris.Perone@cga.ct.gov

Representative Lonnie Reed   
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Lonnie.Reed@cga.ct.gov

Representative Tom Reynolds            
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Tom.Reynolds@cga.ct.gov    

Representative Elizabeth B. Ritter     
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Elizabeth.Ritter@cga.ct.gov

Representative Matthew Ritter           
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Matthew.Ritter@cga.ct.gov

Representative Hector L. Robles        
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Hector.Robles@cga.ct.gov

Representative Jason Rojas     
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Jason.Rojas@cga.ct.gov

Representative Kelvin Roldan            
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Kelvin.Roldan@cga.ct.gov

Representative Kim Rose       
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Kim.Rose@cga.ct.gov

Representative Daniel Rovero
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Danny.Rovero@cga.ct.gov

Representative Richard Roy   
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Richard.Roy@cga.ct.gov

Representative Kevin Ryan    
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Kevin Ryan@cga.ct.gov

Representative Robert Sanchez          
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Robert.Sanchez@cga.ct.gov

Representative Ezequiel Santiago       
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Ezequiel.Santiago@cga.ct.gov

Representative Peggy Sayers  
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Peggy.Sayers@cga.ct.gov

Representative Linda Schofield         
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Linda.Schofield@cga.ct.gov

Representative Joseph C. Serra           
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Joseph.Serra@cga.ct.gov

Representative J. Brendan Sharkey    
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Brendan.Sharkey@cga.ct.gov

Representative Charlie Stallworth      
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Charlie.Stallworth@cga.ct.gov

Representative Jonathan Steinberg     
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Jonathan.Steinberg@cga.ct.gov

Representative Joseph Taborsak 
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email:  Joseph.Taborsak@cga.ct.gov

Representative Kathleen Tallarita
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Kathy.Tallarita@cga.ct.gov 

Representative Peter A. Tercyak        
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Peter.Tercyak@cga.ct.gov

Representative John W. Thompson
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Jack.Thompson@cga.ct.gov

Representative William Tong  
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: William.Tong@cga.ct.gov

Representative Diana S. Urban           
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Diana.Urban@cga.ct.gov

Representative Joe Verrengia 
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Joe.Verrengia@cga.ct.gov

Representative Peter F. Villano          
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Peter.Villano@cga.ct.gov

Representative Toni E. Walker           
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Toni.Walker@cga.ct.gov

Representative Patricia M. Widlitz     
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Patricia.Widlitz@cga.ct.gov

Representative Roberta B. Willis        
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Roberta.Willis@cga.ct.gov

Representative Christopher A. Wright           
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Christopher.Wright@cga.ct.gov

Representative Elissa T. Wright          
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Elissa.Wright@cga.ct.gov

Representative Bruce Zalaski
Phone: 860/240-8585
Email: Zeke.Zalaski@cga.ct.gov

Representative Timothy Ackert          
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: tim.ackert@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Al Adinolfi     
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: al.adinolfi@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Mike Alberts  
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Mike.Alberts@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Bill Aman       
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Bill.Aman@cga.ct.gov

Representative Penny Bacchiochi       
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Penny.Bacchiochi@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Whit Betts      
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: whit.betts@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Lawrence F. Cafero   
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Lawrence.Cafero@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Fred Camillo  
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Fred.Camillo@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Vincent J. Candelora  
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Vincent.Candelora@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Christie Carpino 
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email:  Christie.Carpino@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Dan Carter      
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Dan.Carter@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Clark J. Chapin           
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Clark.Chapin@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Christopher D. Coutu 
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Christopher.Coutu@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Anthony J. D'Amelio 
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Anthony.DAmelio@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Christopher Davis      
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Christopher.Davis@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Livvy R. Floren          
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Livvy.Floren@housegop.ct.gov

Representative John H. Frey   
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: John.Frey@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Lile R. Gibbons          
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Lile.Gibbons@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Janice R. Giegler        
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Janice.Giegler@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Marilyn Giuliano        
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Marilyn.Giuliano@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Leonard Greene
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: len.greene@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Noreen Kokoruda      
Phone: 800/842-1423
Email: Noreen.Kokoruda@housegop.ct.gov

Representative John W. Hetherington            
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: John.Hetherington@housegop.ct.gov

Representative DebraLee Hovey 
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email:  DebraLee.Hovey@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Laura R. Hoydick      
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Laura.Hoydick@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Tony Hwang  
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Tony.Hwang@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Themis Klarides         
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Themis.Klarides@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Brenda L. Kupchick   
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Brenda.Kupchick@housegop.ct.gov

Representative David K. Labriola      
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: David.Labriola@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Gail Lavielle   
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Gail.Lavielle@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Timothy B. LeGeyt    
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Timothy.LeGeyt@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Lawrence Miller         
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Lawrence.Miller@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Craig Miner    
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Craig.Miner@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Michael L. Molgano   
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Michael.Molgano@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Selim Noujaim            
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Selim.Noujaim@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Arthur J. O'Neill         
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Arthur.ONeill@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Jason Perillo   
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Jason.Perillo@housegop.ct.gov

Representative John E. Piscopo          
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: John.Piscopo@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Rosa C. Rebimbas      
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Rosa.Rebimbas@housegop.ct.gov

Representative John B. Rigby            
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: John.Rigby@housegop.ct.gov

Representative T. R. Rowe     
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: TR.Rowe@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Robert Sampson
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: rob.sampson@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Pamela Z. Sawyer      
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Pamela.Sawyer@housegop.ct.gov

Representative David A. Scribner      
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: David.Scribner@housegop.ct.gov

Representative John Shaban   
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: John.Shaban@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Bill Simanski  
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Bill.Simanski@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Richard A. Smith       
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Richard.Smith@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Prasad Srinivasan       
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Prasad.Srinivasan@housegop.ct.gov

Representative William Wadsworth   
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: William.Wadsworth@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Sean J. Williams 
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Sean.Williams@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Terrie Wood   
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Terrie.Wood@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Dave W. Yaccarino    
Phone: 860/240-8700
Email: Dave.Yaccarino@housegop.ct.gov 

Comments

  1. Chad Traverse City

    Test Comment

  2. Dan Codianni Waterbury, CT

    I am OPPOSED to House Bill 5580! It is UNFAIR to target car hobbiests to increase state revenue! The state needs to CUT SPENDING!!!

  3. Mike Mawhirter Derby, Ks

    Ridiculous! A 400% tax increase on ANYTHING, much less antique cars, is just insane. Ct. should be ashamed to even suggest it!

  4. steve herman columbus oh

    I do not see how this ungodly tax increase on a very small number of people in your state will help. I am a fellow car owner an go to many car shows an donate money to help many different people in our area. If this tax passes i would think that many fellow owners in your state would have to sell their cars and not be able to make these type of donations thru car shows to help many people. I would hope you vote against this unfair tax thank you steve herman

  5. Michael Maulucci Connecticut

    lay off the state workers who are overpaid!

  6. Budd

    This forum needed shaking up and you've just done that. Great post!

  7. Dhananjay Wish Australia have this.The government here is so siputd, using my tax into something that is really unnecessary. Well.. I don't even know if it is used.Ugh! I can go on an on how siputd they are but really admire these thing from US!

    Wish Australia have this.The government here is so siputd, using my tax into something that is really unnecessary. Well.. I don't even know if it is used.Ugh! I can go on an on how siputd they are but really admire these thing from US!

  •  
  •   
  •  
  •